• Lori Kirkpatrick

Hey DISD - The CEO of the MAP Test Company Says MAP Shouldn't Be Used for Teacher Evaluations!

I'm glad to see local journalist Keri Mitchell looking into what's going on with the MAP test in Dallas ISD. But she's getting the silent treatment from the district.


I recently blogged about DISD's planned inappropriate use of MAP for high-stakes teacher evaluations (TEI) and the Coalition for Equity in Public Education launched a letter writing campaign against it this summer.


This month Chris Minnich the CEO of the company that produces the MAP test, NWEA, agreed with me. Here are his statements published in EdWeek:


"NWEA’s Minnich said he expects that states will not look as strictly to assessment as an indicator of students’ learning levels as they have in years past, because the data are not reliable for high-stakes purposes at this point. NWEA’s MAP assessment can be used for either high-stakes or low-stakes purposes, but Minnich is recommending that it not be used at this time for any high-stakes decisions such as teacher evaluation or student readiness for certain programs or interventions. “I think these assessments should be used to figure out where our kids are, and figure out where we should go with those students,” he said."


It bears repeating. The CEO of the company that produces the MAP test says about MAP:

  • The data are not reliable for high-stakes purposes at this point.


  • Minnich is recommending that it not be used at this time for any high-stakes decisions such as teacher evaluation or student readiness for certain programs or interventions.


Yet Dallas ISD intends to use the data for teacher evaluations, salary determinations, and student eligibility for magnet and special programs.


This past Thursday (9/24/20) during the DISD board meeting I informed the Superintendent and Trustees of Mr. Minnich's statements regarding MAP and stated, "I respectfully request a formal statement from the District justifying the use of MAP for high-stakes teacher evaluations and pay." To read my entire statement go here.


There is such a thing as well-constructed assessments that can be used to inform instruction. Most of what is being done with testing in DISD is not that thing.


To stop warping the curriculum through scripted lessons and test score-based merit pay contact DISD administration and board members with this message:


I do not support standardized tests or assessments (such as STAAR and MAP) for the purpose of high-stakes teacher evaluations, teacher pay, or for student eligibility for magnet and special programs. I respectfully request that Dallas ISD cease this inappropriate use of testing immediately.


Superintendent Michael Hinojosa hinojosam@dallasisd.org


Chief of Human Capital Management Cynthia Wilson cynwilson@dallasisd.org


D9 President Justin Henry justinhenry@dallasisd.org

D1 Edwin Flores edwinflores@dallasisd.org

D2 Dustin Marshall dustinmarshall@dallasisd.org

D3 Dan Micciche danmicciche@dallasisd.org

D4 Karla Garcia kgarcia@dallasisd.org


D5 Maxie Johnson maxiejohnson@dallasisd.org

D6 Joyce Foreman joyceforeman@dallasisd.org

D7 Ben Mackey benmackey@dallasisd.org

D8 Miguel Solis miguelsolis@dallasisd.org


#studentsoverstakes #byebyetei #ourcommunityourschools